Phoenix, AZ is the fifth most populated state in the nation, with nearly 1.7 million residents as of 2019. That makes it the only state capital with a population of over one million. Home of The Phoenix Symphony Hall, the Arizona Science Center and Phoenix Civic Space Park, as well as over 500 hotels, 40 guest resorts and 200 golf courses, it also boasts more than 60 medical marijuana dispensaries, and approximately 3% of the state’s population already has obtained a MMJ card.

Read on to learn how to join them and get your medical marijuana card Phoenix AZ.

AZ Medical Marijuana Laws

Along with the rest of the state of Arizona, the city of Phoenix voted to legalize medical marijuana as of 2010. According to Arizona law, a patient diagnosed by an Arizona doctor with at least one of a select list of qualifying conditions can procure no more than two and one-half ounces of usable cannabis within a 14-day period without legal penalty or recourse.

You must obtain a state MMJ card in order to purchase and use marijuana medically in the state, and that card is good for two years before you must renew it. With that card, you can purchase medical marijuana at any dispensary in the state, or, if you live more than 25 miles from one, you can grow your own marijuana for personal use legally. If you grow your own medical marijuana in AZ, it must be in an enclosed and locked facility. You may not drive a motor vehicle or operate heavy machinery under the influence of marijuana, however, even if you do possess an Arizona MMJ card.

How to Qualify for MMJ Card in Phoenix, AZ

To qualify for a MMJ card in Phoenix, AZ or anywhere in the state, you must have a diagnosis from a doctor licensed to practice in the state of Arizona for one of the following qualifying conditions:

  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
  • Cachexia or wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic pain
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV or AIDS
  • Nausea, generally persistent and severe
  • Persistent Muscle Spasms, such as from MS (multiple sclerosis)
  • PTSD (post-traumatic stress disorder)
  • Seizures, such as from epilepsy

Note that some of the conditions can also be symptoms of other conditions, such as seizures, severe nausea or chronic pain. Therefore, even if you don’t have one of the qualifying conditions, or have not yet been diagnosed with one, you may still qualify for a medical marijuana card in Phoenix, AZ if you experience any of those conditions as a symptom of another medically-diagnosed or diagnosable condition or of the treatment for one.

3 Easy Steps to Get MMJ Card in Phoenix, AZ ONLINE

These days, it’s easier than ever to get your MMJ card in Phoenix, AZ, because you don’t even need to leave your home to get it. You can get your MMJ card in Phoenix, Arizona completely online. Here’s how:

    1. Create an account at Affordable Certification – Once you create an account and answer a few basic questions, Affordable Certification will set you up with an appointment with an appropriate, licensed doctor remotely.
  1. Teleconference with a doctor – Upon completion of a basic consultation and evaluation, the doctor will write you the doctor’s note you need to get your AZ MMJ card. Affordable Certification will, then, send you a PDF containing that note via email.
  2. Register for your card – All you need to do now to complete your medical marijuana certification Phoenix AZ is submit your letter and MMJ card application to the AZDHS Medical Marijuana Program portal and pay the necessary fee. Once approved, your ready-to-use digital MMJ card will be delivered to you via email.

How Much Does it Cost to Get a MMJ Card in Phoenix, AZ

The Arizona Department of Health charges $150 for a MMJ card Phoenix AZ valid for two years. If you are enrolled in the SNAP program, you only pay $75 for two years instead.

Our Location in Phoenix, Arizona

Regular patients

$99 certification cost
good for 2 years

  • State fee (to be paid directly to ADHS) $150

EBT discounted patients

$99 certification cost
good for 2 years

  • State fee (to be paid directly to ADHS) $75
  • Must provide one of the following:
  • SNAP approval letter
  • EBT card (only if your card has your name printed in front)